Do You Know the Rule? Minn. Time Limitation for Report of Death or Injury

27 Oct, 2022 Frank Ferreri

                               

Minneapolis, MN (WorkersCompensation.com) –In Minnesota, when a worker gets hurt or killed on the job, the state requires employers and insurers to get the information in in a timely manner.

So, what does the North Star State require and when does it require it? The following chart highlights the time limitation under Minnesota workers’ compensation law.

Topics

Rules

Insured employers

Where death or serious injury occurs to an employee during the course of employment, the employer shall report the injury or death to the commissioner and insurer within 48 hours after its occurrence.

Where any other injury occurs that wholly or partly incapacitates the employee from performing labor or service for more than three calendar days, the employer shall report the injury to the insurer within 10 days from its occurrence.

An employer who provides notice to the Occupational Safety and Health Division of the Department of Labor and Industry of a fatality within the 8-hour time frame required by law, or of an inpatient hospitalization, amputation, or loss of an eye, within the 24-hour time frame required by law, has satisfied the employer's obligation

Insurers and self-insured employers

An insurer and self-insured employer shall report the injury to the commissioner no later than 14 days from its occurrence.

If an injury has not previously been required to be reported, the insurer or self-insured employer must report the injury to the commissioner , no later than 14 days after the date that:

  1. Any document initiating a dispute is filed
  2. A rehabilitation consultation report or a rehabilitation plan is filed
  3. Permanent partial disability is ascertainable

The insurer or self-insured employer must also specify whether the injury is covered by a collective bargaining agreement

Death ensues after an injury

Where an injury has once been reported but subsequently death ensues, the employer shall report the death to the commissioner and insurer within 48 hours after the employer receives notice of this fact.

 

Statutory, regulatory, and case law materials from 53 U.S. jurisdictions, including Minnesota can be found on WorkCompResearch


  • AI artificial intelligence california case management case management focus claims cms compensability compliance courts covid do you know the rule exclusive remedy florida FMLA glossary check health care Healthcare iowa leadership medical medicare minnesota NCCI new jersey new york ohio osha pennsylvania Safety state info technology tennessee texas violence virginia WDYT west virginia what do you think women's history month workers' comp 101 workers' recovery workers' compensation contact information Workplace Safety Workplace Violence


  • Read Also

    About The Author

    • Frank Ferreri

      Frank Ferreri, M.A., J.D. covers workers' compensation legal issues. He has published books, articles, and other material on multiple areas of employment, insurance, and disability law. Frank received his master's degree from the University of South Florida and juris doctor from the University of Florida Levin College of Law.

    Read More

    Request a Demo

    To request a free demo of one of our products, please fill in this form. Our sales team will get back to you shortly.