minnesota 39119 640

Cheat Sheet: Minn. Petitions Filed with Workers’ Compensation Division

25 May, 2023 Frank Ferreri

minnesota 39119 640
                               

Minneapolis, MN (WorkersCompensation.com) -- If you had to file a petition with Minnesota's Workers' Compensation Division, would you know what to do and how the process would work?

The following chart breaks down the steps.

TopicMinnesota Requirements
Hearings on petitionsThe petitioner shall serve a copy of the petition on each adverse party personally or by first class mail. A clear copy shall be filed with the office, together with an appropriate affidavit of service.
Settlement and pretrial conferences; summary decisionThe chief administrative law judge shall promptly assign the petition to a compensation judge, and shall schedule a settlement conference before a compensation judge, to be held no later than 180 days after a claim petition was filed, or 45 days after a petition to discontinue, objection to discontinuance, or request for formal hearing was filed.
All parties must appear at the settlement conference, either personally or by representative, must be prepared to discuss settlement of all issues, and must be prepared to discuss or present the information required by the joint rules of the division and the office. If a representative appears on behalf of a party, the representative must have authority to fully settle the matter. The parties shall serve and file a pretrial statement no fewer than five days before the settlement conference.
If settlement is not reached, the chief administrative law judge shall schedule a hearing to be held within 90 days from the scheduled settlement conference. However, the hearing must be held earlier than 90 days from the scheduled settlement conference. The hearing must be held before a compensation judge other than the compensation judge who conducted the settlement conference. The compensation judge assigned to hold the hearing may choose to conduct a pretrial conference to clarify the issues and evidence that will be presented at the hearing.
Canceling or reschedulingCancellations and continuations of proceedings are disfavored but may be granted upon the showing of good cause.
The compensation judge conducting the settlement conference may require the parties to present copies of all documentary evidence not previously filed and a summary of the evidence they will present at a formal hearing. If appropriate, a written summary decision shall be issued within 10 days after the conference stating the issues and a determination of each issue.
Failure to appearIf a party fails to appear at the conference, all issues may be determined contrary to the absent party's interest, provided the party in attendance presents a prima facie case.
Finality of summary decisionThe summary decision is final unless a written request for a formal hearing is served on all parties and filed with the commissioner within 30 days after the date of service and filing of the summary decision. Within 10 days after receipt of the request, the commissioner shall certify the matter to the office for a de novo hearing.
TestimonyWhere the chief administrative law judge has substituted a compensation judge originally assigned to hear a matter, the testimony taken before the substitute compensation judge shall be considered as though taken before the judge before whom it was originally assigned.
Striking from calendarA compensation judge, after receiving a properly served motion, may strike a case from the active trial calendar after the employee has been given 30 days to correct a deficient petition if it is shown that the information on the petition or included with the petition is incomplete. Once a case is stricken, it may not be reinstated until the missing information is provided to the adverse parties and filed with the compensation judge.
If a case has been stricken from the calendar for 180 days or more and no corrective action has been taken, the compensation judge may, upon the judge's own motion or a motion of a party which is properly served on all parties, dismiss the case. The petitioner must be given at least 30 days' advance notice of the proposed dismissal before the dismissal is effective.

Workers' Comp 101: What is a "prima facie case"? Black's Law Dictionary defines it as: 1) the establishment of a legally required rebuttable presumption; or 2) a party's production of enough evidence to allow the fact-trier to infer the fact at issue and rule in the party's favor.


  • AI california case management case management focus claims cms compensability compliance courts covid do you know the rule exclusive remedy florida FMLA fraud glossary check health care Healthcare iowa leadership medical medicare minnesota NCCI new jersey new york ohio osha pennsylvania Safety state info technology tennessee texas violence virginia WDYT west virginia what do you think women's history month workers' comp 101 workers' recovery workers' compensation contact information Workplace Safety Workplace Violence


  • Read Also

    About The Author

    • Frank Ferreri

      Frank Ferreri, M.A., J.D. covers workers' compensation legal issues. He has published books, articles, and other material on multiple areas of employment, insurance, and disability law. Frank received his master's degree from the University of South Florida and juris doctor from the University of Florida Levin College of Law.

    Read More

    Request a Demo

    To request a free demo of one of our products, please fill in this form. Our sales team will get back to you shortly.