california 42478 640

Do You Know the Rule? Calif. Chiropractor QME Eligibility

08 Apr, 2024 Frank Ferreri

california 42478 640
                               

Sacramento, CA (WorkersCompensation.com) -- When are chiropractors eligible to serve as qualified medical evaluators under California workers' compensation law. As explained on Simply Research, the rules are as follows:

Certification

All chiropractors shall be certified in workers' compensation evaluation by either a California professional chiropractic association, or an accredited California college recognized by the Administrative Director. The certification program shall include instruction in disability evaluation report writing.

Criteria

California professional chiropractic associations or accredited California colleges applying to be recognized by the Administrative Director for the purpose of providing these required courses to chiropractors in California workers' compensation evaluation, shall meet the following criteria:

(1) The provider's courses shall be administered and taught by a California professional chiropractic association or a California chiropractic college accredited by the Council on Chiropractic Education. Instructors shall be licensed or certified in their profession or if a member of a non-regulated profession have at least two years experience in their area of instruction regarding workers' compensation issues.

(2) The provider's method of instruction and testing shall include all of the following:

(A) Lecture, didactic sessions and group discussion including an initial 8 hours of overview of the workers' compensation system and 17 additional hours in medical-legal issues for total minimum class time of 25 hours. Up to 12 hours of the instruction covering the regulations affecting QMEs and/or writing ratable reports may be satisfied by distance learning. At least 13 hours of the training shall consist of in person or on site instruction. The initial 8 hours of overview are transferable to any other approved program provider for credit;

(B) Passing a written test at the completion of the program to determine proficiency and application of course material;

(C) Writing a narrative conclusion to medical-legal issues in response to facts presented or a narrative report, in appropriate format, which would meet the standards of a ratable report;

(3) The initial 8 hours of the course material shall cover the following information:

(A) Overview of California Labor Code, DWC (Division of Workers' Compensation of the California Department of Industrial Relations) and the regulations of the Division of Workers' Compensation and of the Workers' Compensation Appeals Board governing QMEs, medical-legal reports and evaluations;

(B) Obligations of the treating and evaluating physicians;

(C) Review of appropriate workers' compensation terminology;

(4) The remaining 17 hours shall include but not be limited to the following:

(A) History and examination procedure requirements, including all relevant treatment, treatment utilization, and evaluation guidelines and regulations adopted by the Administrative Director;

(B) The subjects such as proper use of the AMA Guides, and the medical treatment utilization schedule (MTUS);

(C) Apportionment;

(D) Future medical care;

(E) 2 hours of instruction in anti-bias training.

(5) The provider's course material and tests shall be submitted to the Administrative Director for annual review and the Administrative Director shall monitor a provider's course as necessary to determine if the provider meets the criteria for recognition.

(6) The provider's course advertising shall clearly state whether or not the course is recognized to satisfy the requirement for chiropractic California workers' compensation evaluation by the Administrative Director.

(c) Course Material shall also cover at a minimum, the material within the text of the “Physicians Guide to Medical Practice in the California Workers' Compensation System (Current Edition).”

(d) No one shall recruit members or promote commercial products or services in the instruction room immediately before, during, or immediately after the presentation of a course. Education providers or vendors may display/sell educational materials related to workers' compensation or applications for membership in an area adjoining a course. A course provider or faculty member shall disclose on QME Form 119 (Faculty Disclosure of Commercial Interest) any significant financial interest held by faculty in or affiliation with any commercial product or service which is discussed in a course and that interest or affiliation must be disclosed to all attendees. An education provider shall file every Form 119 in its possession with the Administrator Director.

Copies of the “Physicians' Guide” are available through the Medical Director Division of Workers' Compensation, Attention: Medical Unit, P. O. Box 71010, Oakland, CA 94612.


  • AI artificial intelligence california case management case management focus claims cms compensability compliance courts covid do you know the rule exclusive remedy florida FMLA glossary check health care Healthcare iowa leadership medical medicare minnesota NCCI new jersey new york ohio osha pennsylvania Safety state info technology tennessee texas violence virginia WDYT west virginia what do you think women's history month workers' comp 101 workers' recovery workers' compensation contact information Workplace Safety Workplace Violence


  • Read Also

    About The Author

    • Frank Ferreri

      Frank Ferreri, M.A., J.D. covers workers' compensation legal issues. He has published books, articles, and other material on multiple areas of employment, insurance, and disability law. Frank received his master's degree from the University of South Florida and juris doctor from the University of Florida Levin College of Law.

    Read More

    Request a Demo

    To request a free demo of one of our products, please fill in this form. Our sales team will get back to you shortly.