R. Ferrell Newman Reappointed as Commissioner of the Virginia Workers’ Compensation Commission


Richmond, VA (WorkersCompensation.com) - Commissioner Newman was appointed by the General Assembly in 2013 and began his position with the Virginia Workers’ Compensation Commission on March 11, 2013.

A native of Richmond, Mr. Newman is a 1983 graduate of The College of William and Mary’s Marshall Wythe School of Law and a 1979 graduate from the University of Richmond. His appointment as Commissioner follows a 30‑year practice of law with a heavy concentration in workers’ compensation. In 2016 he was inducted as a Fellow in the College of Workers’ Compensation Lawyers.

About The Commission
The Virginia Workers’ Compensation Commission (VWC), established in 1918, is an independent judicial and administrative state agency that oversees the workers’ compensation system for employees, employers, and insurers. VWC interprets and applies the Virginia Workers’ Compensation Act and resolves claims through hearings and mediation.

The Commission is led by a Senior Leadership team consisting of three Commissioners, an Executive Director and a Chief Deputy Commissioner. Commissioners are selected by the General Assembly and serve six-year terms. Honorable R. Ferrell Newman, Honorable Wesley G. Marshall and Honorable Robert A. Rapaport currently serve as Commissioners. The Commissioners elect a Chairman to serve a three-year term. Commissioner Rapaport currently serves as Chairman. Ms. Evelyn V. McGill is the Commission’s Executive Director and the Honorable James J. Szablewicz is the Commission’s Chief Deputy Commissioner.

Read More

Request a Demo

To request a free demo of one of our products, please fill in this form. Our sales team will get back to you shortly.