OR DWC Determines 2011 Premium Assessment Rate

                               

Portland, OR (CompNewsNetwork) - Effective Jan.1, 2011, the department has determined that an assessment rate of direct earned premium is necessary for the department to carry out its statutory responsibility to regulate, administer, and enforce the workers' compensation and occupational safety and health laws of the state of Oregon (ORS 656.612 and OAR 440-045-0020). This assessment funds the operations of the Workers' Compensation Division, the Workers' Compensation Board, most of Oregon-OSHA, part of the Insurance Division, and other parts of the department that support these divisions in carrying out the law.

An additional assessment for self-insured employers and self-insured employer groups is required to fund the Self-Insured Employer Adjustment Reserve and the Self-Insured Employer Group Adjustment Reserve (ORS 656.614 and OAR 440-045-0025). Total assessment rates are:

            Insurers                                          6.4 percent

            Self-insured employers                     6.6 percent

            Self-insured employer groups            6.6 percent

These rates apply to all premium earned on or after Jan. 1, 2011. 
  • Read Also

    About The Author

    • WorkersCompensation.com

    Read More

    Request a Demo

    To request a free demo of one of our products, please fill in this form. Our sales team will get back to you shortly.