Ohio BWC Recognizes Safety Council of the Year



Columbus, OH (WorkersCompensation.com) - Ohio Bureau of Workers' Compensation (BWC) Administrator and CEO Steve Buehrer today announced the annual safety council of the year award winners. The winners are among Ohio's 80 safety councils, which work to increase safety awareness in the workplace and educate businesses on occupational safety and health issues.


The Ashtabula Safety Council received the top recognition for the second year in a row for its commitment to helping employers understand how effective workplace safety and health programs can increase the overall productivity of their businesses. Sponsored by the Ashtabula County Technical and Career Center, the safety council provides a variety of innovative safety services, information and resources to employers in the northeast corner of Ohio.


"Providing top-notch care at a reasonable cost is our number one priority, but there’s no question that the best type of care is prevention," Buehrer said. “Though we are recognizing safety councils that stand out, I would like to applaud all of their efforts which in many cases not only help in the workplace but spread to employees’ homes and the community."


The following is the list of other safety councils recognized for their efforts to promote safety. The Ashland Area and Miami County Safety Councils are being recognized for the first time for making great strides in increasing membership and providing additional workshops and seminars in their local communities. The other recipients have been recognized several times for their excellent programming, communication, organization and fulfillment of program requirements.

  • Sandusky County Safety Council (2nd place)
  • Huron County Safety Council (3rd place)
  • Medina County Safety Council (4th place)
  • Stark County Safety Council (honorable mention)
  • Licking County Safety Council (honorable mention)
  • Ashland Area Safety Council (honorable mention)
  • Miami County Safety Council (honorable mention)

Buehrer expanded the program in 2011 to allow all employers actively participating in a local safety council, including those that are group-rated, to earn all available rebates on their workers' compensation premium. Participating employers can receive a two percent rebate for attending a specific number of safety council programs, and an additional two percent for demonstrating a reduction in the frequency and/or severity of workplace incidents.

In accordance with BWC's Destination: Excellence program, employers have until July 30 to enroll in a local safety council.

Visit ohiobwc.com or call 1-800-644-6292 for more information about the Safety Council Program.

  • Read Also

    About The Author

    • WorkersCompensation.com

    Read More

    Request a Demo

    To request a free demo of one of our products, please fill in this form. Our sales team will get back to you shortly.