Idaho Insurance Director Becomes 2022 National Association of Insurance Commissioners President


Boise, ID ( - Dean L. Cameron, Director of the Idaho Department of Insurance, has become President of the National Association of Insurance Commissioners as its next President. Director Cameron was voted President-elect by his peers during the 2020 Fall Meeting of the NAIC.

“I have had the opportunity to see how insurance and insurance regulation impacts costs and consumers.” said Cameron. “Right now, consumers are facing unprecedented challenges in access to coverage, price, security of their personal information and confidence that carriers are acting appropriately, which we must overcome in order to keep this critical safety net functioning.”

Cameron has led efforts to ensure all consumers have access to affordable insurance, although quickly acknowledges much needs to be done. He has led with health insurance innovation, Annuity Suitability consumer protections, Long-term care viability, Cyber Data and Artificial Intelligence. Additionally, Cameron is requesting for a review of NAIC’s rules and regulations to eliminate any unnecessary, unclear, or duplicative regulations. Eliminating unnecessary regulation should help reduce costs and barriers to access to coverage. .

“I strongly believe that, with thoughtful and careful consideration, we can turn challenges into unexpected opportunities,” said Cameron. “We must be flexible in responding to new challenges, effectively listen to find solutions, and be willing to collaborate to find the best possible outcomes.”

Cameron has been Idaho’s Director of Insurance since 2015. Previously, Cameron served 13 terms in the Idaho State Senate, where he brought his knowledge and experience to the Senate Finance Committee. In addition to his role as Director of Idaho’s Department of Insurance, Cameron currently serves on the following NAIC Executive Committees: Special Executive Committee on Race and Insurance (Co-Chair); Government Relations Executive Leadership Council (Chair); Long-Term Care Insurance Executive Task Force; Audit Committee; and the Internal Administration Executive 1 Subcommittee (Chair).

Cameron serves as NAIC President along with President-Elect Chlora Lindley-Myers (MO), Vice President Andrew Mais (CT), and Secretary-Treasurer Jon Godfread (ND). Their duties officially began on January 3, 2022.

Read More

Request a Demo

To request a free demo of one of our products, please fill in this form. Our sales team will get back to you shortly.