Bradford to Become New Arkansas Insurance Commissioner Jan. 15

Little Rock, AR (CompNewsNetwork) - Arkansas Governor Mike Beebe will appoint Jay Bradford of Pine Bluff as Commissioner of the Arkansas Insurance Department, effective Jan. 15. Braford will replace Julie Benafield Bowman, whose resignation from the post became effective Dec. 31, 2008.

Lenita Blasingame of El Paso, a 43-year veteran of the Arkansas Insurance Department, will serve as Interim Commissioner until Bowman's term officially expires on January 14.

For the past two years, Bradford has served as Director of the Division of Behavioral Sciences at the Arkansas Department of Human Services.

Prior to that, Bradford worked in the insurance industry for more than four decades, including 30 years as founder and chairman of First Arkansas Insurance Group in Pine Bluff.

Bradford also served more than two decades in the Arkansas Legislature, chosen both as Speaker Pro Tempore of the House and President Pro Tempore of the Senate.

Blasingame will return to her position as Chief Deputy Commissioner once Bradford is sworn in. Bradford's appointment will expire Jan. 14, 2013.

  • Read Also

    About The Author


    Read More

    Request a Demo

    To request a free demo of one of our products, please fill in this form. Our sales team will get back to you shortly.