Wisconsin Secretary Gassman Announces 2008 Wisconsin Forward Award Recipients


Agnesian HealthCare, St. Mary's Care Center Named Excellence Recipients

Madison, WI  (CompNewsNetwork) - On behalf of Wisconsin Governor Jim Doyle, Department of Workforce Development Secretary Roberta Gassman today announced the recipients of the 2008 Wisconsin Forward Award.

Wisconsin Forward Award, the state's premier organization for the promotion and recognition of high-performance management principals, will honor award recipients at a ceremony and reception at the Monona Terrace in Madison on July 8, 2008. The ceremony will also celebrate the accomplishments of well over 100 Wisconsin organizations that have benefited from the program's services and learning opportunities, as well as the tens of thousands of hours of service that its volunteers have given.

Agnesian HealthCare (Fond du Lac) — an integrated, comprehensive health care delivery system providing medical care to people in seven Wisconsin counties. The system provides a continuum of health care services from birth to end-of-life, including preventive care, diagnosis, treatment, and rehabilitation. The system's long-term residence facility meets the needs of those requiring skilled nursing care, Alzheimer's care, and assisted/independent living services.

St. Mary's Care Center (Madison) – an 184-bed skilled nursing home and part of the Baldrige Quality Award-winning SSM Health Care. The facility offers a full range of skilled nursing services, including short term rehabilitation, long term care, and memory care. These services are provided through an interdisciplinary workforce that supplies both direct care and support services.

Seven organizations will be recognized at the Mastery level, demonstrating significant maturity in developing and refining processes that are tied to good results in such areas as building a high-skilled workforce, financial and organizational performance, and exceptional customer satisfaction and retention.

The American Society for Quality (Milwaukee) — a not-for-profit membership organization that creates better workplaces and communities worldwide by advancing learning, quality improvement, and knowledge exchange to improve business results, and to create better workplaces and communities worldwide.

Bay Area Medical Center (Marinette) — a community healthcare organization that includes a 99-bed acute care hospital, attached ambulatory surgery and outpatient services center, adjacent outpatient facilities with rehabilitation and occupational health services, a sleep disorders center, and two remotely located outpatient rehabilitative services centers.

Physicians Plus Insurance Corporation (Madison) — a provider-owned health insurance company that contributes to the health of its community by offering flexible and customized health insurance products and services and providing access to providers committed to health care excellence.

Sacred Heart Hospital (Eau Claire) — an affiliate of Hospital Sisters Health System with primary care, a Level III trauma center, and a wide range of medical specialties including neurosurgery, cardiovascular services, women's health, cancer, trauma and critical care.

Three additional entities within the SSM Health Care system, winner of the National Malcolm Baldrige Quality Award in 2002.

St. Clare Hospital & Health Services (Baraboo) — a rural acute care hospital serving Baraboo, Lake Delton, Wisconsin Dells, Lyndon Station, Merrimac, North Freedom, and Rock Springs.

St. Clare Meadows Care Center (Baraboo) — St. Clare's long-term nursing facility, offering both skilled nursing and assisted living residential care.

St. Mary's Hospital (Madison) — a 440-bed acute care hospital and medical center with a full range of inpatient, outpatient, and diagnostic services.

Other organizations receiving recognition in 2008 include:

Franciscan Skemp Healthcare–Mayo Health System (La Crosse)

Kohl's Department Stores –Credit Division (Oshkosh)

Monona Terrace Community & Convention Center (Madison)

Red Cedar Medical Center–Mayo Health System (Menomonie)

Saint Michael's Hospital (Stevens Point)

Stoughton Hospital (Stoughton)

Wisconsin Forward Award, Inc. was created in 1997 by the Governor's Council on Workforce Investment to advance the competitive position and world-class status of Wisconsin organizations in the international marketplace, and to enhance learning, continuous improvement, and enterprise performance. The award promotes excellence in organizational management, recognizes the achievements and results of Wisconsin organizations implementing performance excellence systems, and publicizes successful performance excellence management strategies.

All types and sizes of Wisconsin organizations are eligible to apply, including manufacturers, service companies, small businesses, educational institutions, health care organizations, and non profit organizations, including trade and professional associations, government entities, and charities.

WFA is a public/private partnership modeled after the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Program. The not-for-profit organization receives financial support from the Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development and the Wisconsin Department of Commerce as well as other organizations across the state.

Read More

Request a Demo

To request a free demo of one of our products, please fill in this form. Our sales team will get back to you shortly.