Hello There, Guest! Login Register
Index    |     Search    |     Members    |     Help

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
How is total disability decided by wc?
State of GA. I know that ssdi and wc are 2 entirely diff things. But what if an IW has never had health problems before their work accident and then apply for ssdi? The initial SSDI app was based on the injury and medicals supporting the injury were sent in with the app.
When appealing first denial 2-3 other problems are added. Then SSDI is awarded and letter goes into detail about back damage/problems. I have been deemed disabled by SSA and my Neuro has written that I will never return to prior profession. A statement by him says I have been permanently disabled since DOA.
I have been fighting WC for some many months now and just recently won ALJ hearing which is being appealed by ER. My question is why can't the award of SSDI be used in my favor for lifetime benefits? My attorney is talking possible settlement of back pay + 1-2 years future benefits, no medical. I am nearing 60 yrs now and I am aware of the medicare setaside.
I know I will never work again as I can barely get around and have constant pain, severe depression,bilat polyneuropathy,radiculopathy, aggoraphobia, panic attacks, can't sleep, severe muscle cramps, impaired gait, etc, etc, etc.
How am I expected to settle with no future medical? I think it's crazy.
Any constructive advice appreciated.

SSDI criteria can be used for WC lifetime benefits. All you have to do is change Georgia state work comp laws and make them retroactive to your date of injury.
Failing that you have to abide by the current Georgia work comp laws which state very specifically how disability is to determined. Nowhere does it defer to federal SSDI laws. The Georgia code specifically designates the AMA guides to rating impairment as the sole basis of work comp disability determination.
http://www.lexis-nexis.com/hottopics/gacode/