Hello There, Guest! Login Register
Index    |     Search    |     Members    |     Help

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
MMI with a Spinal Cord Stimulator
Hello everyone. I am new to this forum and am hopeful someone will be able to offer up some insight as to what I can expect in the coming days and weeks.

First some background: I am 45 year old male from the wacky state of California. Up until 03/02/008, I was a police officer. I sustained a severe injury to my left leg during a struggle with a suspect who was wanted on a felony warrant for drug sales and possession. After nearly 18 months and five extremely painful medical procedures, I was diagnosed with CRPD and had a spinal cord stimulator implanted on 05/05/09. Thus far, the implant has worked as advertised...I achieve about 55% pain reduction...the other 45% is managed through medication.

Just this past Tuesday (06/30/09) my primary doctor rated me at 41%. Three other doctors (including the one the IC forced me to see) agreed with this finding.

Since my scs trial procedure totaled $21K and my scs implant came in at $92K, can anyone tell me if they think 1) Will the IC contest the findings thereby forcing a possible trial? and 2) What do you think my case may be worth in terms of a settlement?[/size][/font]

Sorry to hear about your injury but glad they have been able to help you reduce the pain. My wife and I both have SCS, the price out there is alittle cheaper then it was here. I can't give you any real answer on your settlement amount but the IC can and do fight just about everything. But if the doctor they sent you to agreed with the others they might not have alot of room to fight it unless they pay for another doctor. Somebody should be along that can maybe give you a better answer but I just wanted to say good luck.