Hello There, Guest! Login Register
Index    |     Search    |     Members    |     Help

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
return to driving after brain injury -question
I am a big truck driver who suffered brain injury on the job. Currently things are going well and ive been told by wc that early next year I will have to be taken about 100 miles to a driving instructor who test folks with brain injuries to be sure they are fit to drive a car.
After that Im told the DMV will review my case and decide on returning my CDL driving license.
MY QUESTION - does anyone know anything about the testing or have had it done themselves?

Hi Muttley,

I don't know much about the testing part, maybe they will give you the DMV test by simulator to test your reflexes and motor skills. As far as the DMV I went through something like that. I am a city bus driver and I was trying to get a surgery done that required tests. They found out that I had sleep apnea and REPORTED IT TO DMV they threatened to take my CDL away. I went to an interveiw spoke with someone and answered a lot of questions and basicly that was it. They didn't take my CDL thank goodness. I hope this helps a little and good luck.

RH

The whole DMV review is something im not happy about because they can take thier time. Once they say I have to come in and be tested in a truck then there is 2 month or longer waiting list to take the test. I just hate the thought of extra delays .Im hoping they just have a sit down with me some things can get moving.

by the way rholmes - I work with a guy with the same problem as you....he wrecked his pickup and hasnt returned to work yet....I assume he hasnt been oked yet.

Hey Muttley,