Hello There, Guest! Login Register
Index    |     Search    |     Members    |     Help

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
all cervical people your opinion please!!!!!
OK i just got of the phone with the doctor and it was stated that I have a huge hernation at c5-6
He wants to so surgery going in through the front of neck ..... gladly he doesnt see anything on the T area .... but imscared!!!!

I need your experienes on this please ....
cervical 4 words ....... darn i didnt write itdown ...

I was sleeping when he called so I wasnt ready for this....
Will keep me over night .... then restrict lifting ... use soft collar .. should be better in 4-6 weeks....

Please I would really like the pros and cons on this ok !!!

Smile 
Tweety, while I'm not a cervie I am a nurse who's had some experience with these kinds of procedures. Being scared is natural...I was when I had my laminectomy in 01-06!! Still scares the hooey outta me when I think about the fact that I've probably got at minimum of 2 surgeries left to get all of this fixed!! LOL
It's a fairly straightforward procedure that they do these days. Sometimes they don't want to keep them overnight but we nurses do our best to find something, anything to keep them just so we can observe them for any problems that could possibly arrise! Wicked, aren't we?
The incision will be fairly well hidden...they usually try to hide it in a fold or something like that. You'll have a dressing that's rather bulky when you wake up. I know that some of my patients said that they felt like they were being strangled. That's because there's swelling going on and the fact that we had an ice pack place there to help with that. Some have said though that the collar, while not fashion conscious, did help them greatly because they felt as if their head was going to fall off!! LOL It's not, but that's what they said it felt like!