Hello There, Guest! Login Register
Index    |     Search    |     Members    |     Help

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
AZ, boss doesn't want to go through WC for my injury, what should I do?
I was injured getting up into my truck a week and a half ago. I think I tore a ligament in my knee. Still waiting for an MRI to find out. Anyway, my boss told me today he'd rather "avoid the workers comp bullcrap" and he can put me to work in the office (normally I'm a truck driver).

I should say that my boss isn't the most trustworthy person and he generally doesn't give a damn about any of the employees. So what's in it for him or the company by avoiding a WC claim? Should I tell him no? Any advice would be appreciated.

I guess you were not aware that work comp insurance premiums are paid by the employer.
like most insurance, premiums go up as claims cost rise.
if you don't file a claim, you likely will not get the same level of benefits from the employer and you have no legal recourse if employer decides to stop paying.
filing a claim long after the injury and after you've been terminated or they have stopped paying, will delay or lead to a denial.
many times this behavior signals that the employer does not have mandatory coverage and is open to fines and state labor department intervention.
you don't want to be complicit in such a scam.
you can go here for coverage search
https://www.azica.gov/obtaining-workers-...nformation:
or contact the ombudsman for further information
Ombudsman 542-4538
https://www.azica.gov/ombudsman
Reminder :
........Each state has their own comp system; POST YOUR STATE to get accurate information. Use the search feature to find information from similar questions.
THANKS FOR POSTING.