Hello There, Guest! Login Register
Index    |     Search    |     Members    |     Help

Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
Wanting to quit job for awhile...now out on leave... What to do?
I'll try and make this short...

For the past year, I've been miserable at my current place of employment. I have my degree in SpEd so my options are limited. I've put in roughly 60 applications that I can remember and have had two interviews (over a year span). 

On 4/26 I sprained my foot at work working direct care for disabled adults. I've been out on leave ever since and the damn thing just doesn't seem to want to heal. While out on leave I took this opportunity to try and find another job full force. Still coming up empty handed. Meanwhile I have an appt set up tomorrow for an orthopedic surgeon. As time goes on, I just keep thinking about the idea of not returning at all. My job won't let me go back on light duty or any restrictions so that's why I've been out so long too... 

My work is pretty weird. When I went out on FMLA last year for an unrelated event, my supervisor and manager would NOT communicate with me under any circumstances (one finally told me this after I had a panic attack) and referred me to HR. I can only imagine how they will be now if I try to contact them. I'd like to put in my two weeks but I don't know how to do that if no one will talk to me. No one (not even co workers) have said a peep to me in 6 weeks. I just don't think I could stand going back. And it's not that I don't want to work. I'd much rather go back to just about anywhere but there. And the treatment I'll get if I return because they had to cover my shifts? I shudder at the mere thought of it...