Hello There, Guest! Login Register
Index    |     Search    |     Members    |     Help

Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
Need advice recent WC injury
One month ago a car fell on top of my husband from an overhead lift shattering his femur, we are lucky thats the only injury he had emergency surgery the same day. We just got back the xray from dr one month post op and there are bone fragments floating all around his leg and it is a horrible looking xray we would like a second opinion, how do youget a second opinion when your through workers comp? Should we get an attorney? I'm a nurse and I've showed his xray to two doctors who both say he will be crippled and best case scenario walk with a limp. The surgeon told us he needs bed rest for a month to make it heal and supposedly all the bone fragments will fuse together..which isn't what the other doctors said to me..what if he needs additional surgery will workers comp pay for that? Does a lawyer speed up settlement time when it comes to it? It is true a leg is only worth 200 weeks even if you lose it completely?

Each state has its own laws. In what state is your husband's claim.
Timothy D. Belt
DISCLAIMER: This post is intended as general information applicable only to the state of Pennsylvania. The answer given is based only on the facts provided. This post is not intended to create an attorney client relationship, or to provide any specific guarantee of confidentiality.

a patient can always request a referral from their treating doctor.
most states have some sort of medical control regulations that allow the carrier/employer to authorize medical consults.
your husband may be more interested in a change of treating doctors.
if that's the case, then the request will likely have to go the adjuster.
as tim belt posted above, the rules for comp are different for every state.