Hello There, Guest! Login Register
Index    |     Search    |     Members    |     Help

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Restricted to work 7-4 question (Michigan)
Hi Everyone,

I have a question regarding restrictions.. My employer has let me know that I am restricted to only work between 7:00 and 4:00 based on doctors decision. (As well as left hand use only). My paid time begins as soon as I start driving.. but they want me to be at my clients by 7:00 a.m. If I begin getting paid as soon as I leave my house, wouldn't that mean I am not able to leave my house until 7:00 to stay within my restrictions? Thanks for any feedback!

& so it begins-from Michigan!
restrictions have to do with bodily functions and physical limitations; it's not about pay/hours.
without knowing what the restrictions are it's difficult to say where your driving falls.
is it strictly an endurance limit or are there other factors? what's so special about your injury that you have to start at 7 rather then 6 or 6:30.
I think you need to get clarification from your physician--they set the limits not the employer.
Reminder :
........Each state has their own comp system; POST YOUR STATE to get accurate information. Use the search feature to find information from similar questions.
Thanks 1171,

I honestly do not know why there is a 7-4 restriction, I think that it is to maintain that I do not work overtime?! I did not receive this restriction from my doctor personally.. it was relayed to me that my employer spoke with my doctor and that was his(Dr.) restriction. I feel my employer is trying to pull a fast one on me to get me to work overtime given I am paid from the moment I start driving, to the moment I get home.. If they are correct in their statement that my doctor had restricted me to work 7-4 (Which I will confirm what was really said at my next appointment),then they are requiring me to break my restrictions?! I never realized how odd and confusing that sounds when it is typed out!
generally a doctor would specify a certain number of hours and not necessarily the starting and stopping time.
In order to achieve good cooperation it's important that all the parties be involved in a discussion of restrictions and not leave anyone out.
make sure you let your doctor know that you want to be informed of any agreements or understandings.
If your doctor can't or won't include you then you need to change doctors.
more on your rights under michigan law:
"after 28 days you are free to change physicians, but you must notify
your employer of the change."

Reminder :
........Each state has their own comp system; POST YOUR STATE to get accurate information. Use the search feature to find information from similar questions.

Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Work Release Question - Arizona Kosmo 1 641 03-05-2021, 01:45 PM
Last Post: 1171
  Settlement Questions- Michigan chubbygodofthunder 11 3,460 02-05-2020, 11:05 PM
Last Post: chubbygodofthunder
  when do wages start accruing (WC in michigan) tropic00 2 968 01-17-2020, 06:16 PM
Last Post: 1171
  Michigan permanent work restriction question dvande04 2 3,065 05-04-2016, 06:03 PM
Last Post: dvande04
  Michigan Comp Case MyBackHurtsBad 3 3,428 02-17-2016, 05:36 PM
Last Post: MyBackHurtsBad
  Michigan-worker's comp settlement for $60,000 fair for a broken back? sunnykate 2 7,225 12-02-2015, 03:25 AM
Last Post: Sedertree
  Facilitation in Michigan Sedertree 4 4,933 12-02-2015, 03:17 AM
Last Post: Sedertree
  CA Alternative Work wages and hours question Poseid Atlantean 4 4,110 07-24-2015, 11:55 PM
Last Post: 1171
  michigan light duty daczs100 15 15,551 02-28-2014, 11:40 PM
Last Post: 1171
  From Michigan: New to this, have a ton of questions. tmilit01 4 6,083 06-16-2013, 12:45 PM
Last Post: jayne

Forum Jump:

Browsing: 1 Guest(s)