Hello There, Guest! Login Register
Index    |     Search    |     Members    |     Help

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Office/Desk Job in PA... Cervical Herniation... Feeling Overwhelmed with what to do
I’ve had severe pain for a couple years now but this last year was a nightmare. Mind bending pain that’s far more frequent and intense. Most of what I seem to read here is about an actual injury where someone fell and such but mine is different. My issue is exasperated by the large amount of typing that I do in my 8+ hour day at work. I work in the financial industry and all my work is done on a computer. Over the last couple year I tried sitting different ways and even standing; nothing works. I never cried so much in my life as I have in the last couple years from this pain.

I finally broke down recently and had an MRI done. I prefer living in denial but the reality is smacking me in the face every day with more and more pain. I let this go on for way to long. Monday I went to my first appointment at the Orthopedic doc. My boyfriend who is a chiro had already seen the impression of my MRI so he tried to prepare me; it was bad. I don’t know why but when the Orthopedic doc looked me in the eye and said “wow you’ve got to be in excruciating pain every day… this is fairly serious stuff…” I just became a crying infant in the room. I broke down emotionally right there like an idiot (I rarely breakdown in front of people).

As a single working mother the reality that I can’t do the only thing I know how to do freaks me out. How will I earn money? How will I financial support my children? How will I live? I’m terrified. It’s so painful to work and I’m getting very depressed which along with the pain is just making things worse.