Hello There, Guest! Login Register
Index    |     Search    |     Members    |     Help

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
OWCP (federal) had surgery twice, now what?
Hello all,

I am new to the forum and I have a few questions... first off, a synopsis of what led me to visiting this website:

April 2011 I injured my right shoulder severely conducting collapsible baton training (I was an instructor, law enforcement). I subsequently had an MRI, and a surgery for a torn labrum in October of 2011.

Fast forward to February 2013 (after PT and all that) I moved my right arm outward, and felt a searing pain in my right shoulder. Went back to the same doc (after going back through the federal workers compensation deal) and had another MRI. In August of 2013 I had surgery again to repair the same labrum.

I have completed my PT, and my shoulder is useable, but nowhere near where it was prior to the original surgery back in 2011. I still have random pains, and have numbness in my fingers. When I went back to the doc a few months ago, he gave me a shot in my shoulder to help with the pain and awkward feeling. It didn't help much. I don't take pills since I have a bad liver apparently (the VA told me that), so taking muscle relaxers and pain pills are not an option. What do I do now? I would love a settlement, I would probably suck it up and be happy with some money (with open-ended medical care preferably). Is anyone here familiar with federal workers comp claims? What do I do to ask about a settlement? Is it even an option for federal workers?

Have any of you had a shoulder surgery where it got back to 100% use?

Thanks in advance everyone for taking the time to read my post.

I am sorry I am not familiar with federal work comp.

I suggest contacting an attorney who is familiar with it. Attempting to settle will be easier with an attorney. Their consults are free and they take a small % of the settlement.

Good luck to you.