Hello There, Guest! Login Register
Index    |     Search    |     Members    |     Help

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Injured at work in NY
Hello,

Im new to this board and im having some issues ans questions. Long story short im a professional firefighter living in NY and i was hurt at work. I have done all therapy and tests for the last 4 months and whatever else the doctors tell me to do and turns out i need surgery.

I was told by an ortho surgon i needed labral repair along with FAI surgery (Femoroacetabular impingement) which i was told is how my bone grew when i was a kid and they need to shave down the bone repair the labrum and i would feel much better. Even though i had this before being hired i have never had any pain or issues with my leg and hip and now after this injury its been a nightmare for almost a year. The city doctor took me out permentaly until surgical intervention is done. Now he says i have the option of surgery but at the same time he stated i can not be released for full duty without it. (Im currently doing light duty) so i feel like i really have no choice if i ever want to return to FF duties but at the same time its my choice. He stated also because of the nature of this job i must be 100% healed which i understand. But he also told me depending on how i heal and function after. if he feels he can not clear me even after surgery and i still have pain and restrictions he said i may never return to this position. Im very confused on all of this. Also my ortho doc said the same and they agree surgery is the only option. Im in the process of getting this approved by comp. should i have a personal lawyer? I do have union protection and help it. But i dont know where this may or may not go. But this surgery is in my opinion a serious one and its an aweful recovery for the next 6-8 months. Or maybe longer i was advised.

So hopefully i can get some answers on diffrent scenerios and maybe advice on what to do or not to do.