Hello There, Guest! Login Register
Index    |     Search    |     Members    |     Help

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Returning to work
Hello,
I live in Illinois. I work as a salaried manager in a restaurant, and over the course of 9 years, I got carpal tunnel. At the first signs pain, I saw my personal doctor, who informed me it was carpal tunnel and referred me to a hand surgeon, I just needed a claim number from workman's comp to make the appointment. The person above me refused to call in the claim, and after a week, I made the claim myself, because as a salaried member of management, I was authorized. The surgeon put me on restrictions, which work refused to follow, so I worked full duty for a month and a half, causing the carpal tunnel to go from mild to severe, which forced the doctor so put my status as no work. The workman's comp insurance dragged the process out for months, and now, almost 7 months later, after two surgeries and 2 months of occupational therapy I just got released at MMI today. I called my employer,ready to go back to my salaried 50 hour work week, and they are not sure when they can get me back on the schedule full time, or they can give me a few hours at an hourly rate. Is there anything I can do about this?

ADA laws require that they discuss reasonable accommodation. if they don't you can file a complaint.
more on ADA here
http://www.ada.gov/

I think if you insist they make decision it will be unfavorable to you but at least you'll have a clear answer.

the employer certainly has no obligation to hold a job for you beyond the FMLA requirement of 12 weeks or to create a job that goes beyond reasonable accommodation.
Reminder :
........Each state has their own comp system; POST YOUR STATE to get accurate information. Use the search feature to find information from similar questions.
THANKS FOR POSTING.