Hello There, Guest! Login Register
Index    |     Search    |     Members    |     Help

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
denial letter Northern California
Exclamation 
Hello... I never thought I would need this forum, but thank you in advance. I am an Operating Room nurse in northern California. On Dec 20,2012, I was injured at work but didn't seek treatment right away, because, of course we keep working.... it is expected! I ended up in the ER on Dec 29, 2012, with extreme pain in my upper back. I guess in my agony I forgot to mention to the ER that I was hurt at work. I was in the hosp for 3 days. MRI showed arthritic changes and herniated disc C6-7. After my release I went to the HR dept at work and was given work comp papers. After some time I was told it was under investigation because I didn't seek tx right away and didn't tell them I was hurt at work. They had 90 days to investigate. Well, 90 days later they are denying my claim. Stating old injury and previous tx. Because between Dec 20 and Dec 29 i went to the chiropractor.
I have been off work this whole time doing PT and recently an ESI.
Sorry for the long story. They are saying I need to see an unbiased Dr, etc. Do I need a lawyer?? I was really hoping to avoid that. I just want this to go away and get back to work. If I do need a lawyer how to do I find a reputable one? I am in northern CA. Please help.... I never thought this would happen to me...

did you mention the injury to the chiropractor?
I don't know about an unbiased doctor but california handles disputed medical questions thru the Qualified Medical Examination process
see fact sheet E
http://www.dir.ca.gov/dwc/iwguides.html
to find an experienced work comp lawyer try caaa.org
they have a zip code search engine.
to check on their reputation contact the state or county bar association for disciplinary proceedings.