Hello There, Guest! Login Register
Index    |     Search    |     Members    |     Help

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Forced unemployment???
I am a special ed teacher in MA who got injured at work, healed, went back to work, got injured again and was subsequently fired. School claimed that "they could not hold my position any longer" since FMLA ran out. I received WC benefits till my doctor said I could return to work, but with restrictions. It's been difficult to find a job as I am licensed in severe disabilities but am restricted from working with the severe population. I've emptied my savings and taken a loan against my life insurance to make ends meet til the settlement goes thru. I have not applied for unemployment because (a) my attorney suggested to hold off on it because it may affect the settlement and (b) I am able to work, just not in my area. I just got hired as an on-call sub, so my guess is that I can't collect unemployment. We had the conciliation and the insurance wants to settle. My lawyers says that they're being stingy but that we should have a settlement before the conference, which is at the end of November. But now I receive a letter from the insurance saying that under Chapter 151, section 36b(2) they are requesting me to apply for unemployment and that if I fail to do so it could be grounds to suspend benefits. Does this mean that I am being forced to collect unemployment? Do I have to give up the sub job? I'm confused...

comp has different rules for each state.
http://www.workerscompensation.com/forum...?tid=10146
Reminder :
........Each state has their own comp system; POST YOUR STATE to get accurate information. Use the search feature to find information from similar questions.
THANKS FOR POSTING.

Welcome to the forum hurt teacher.

As a parent of a child with severe multiple disabilities I do understand the physical requirements of your job.