Hello There, Guest! Login Register
Index    |     Search    |     Members    |     Help

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Employer obligation for work restrictions and retaliation
I am a teacher from Oklahoma. I was originally injured in March 2012. The injury resulted in 2 level posterior fusion with bone harvested from my hip. I had surgery the first of August and returned to work 6 weeks later. I realized quickly that I took on too much too fast and the doctor put me on half days. Before the paperwork got to my supervisors I fell over a chair and then a student and landed on my back. I told my supervisor and filled out paperwork for my injury. Luckily I have an appointment next week with the surgeon.

I returned to work the next day and was told accomodations of half days could not be made. I was also told of all the things I have done wrong the week before, one of which was a serious allegation. I was never told the prior week of my wrongdoings, I was told the day after I filed another claim for workers comp.

My questions are 1. Is the district required to make accomodations? I know a person thet I work with that was restricted to half days and they made accomodations for her. 2. Is it considered retaliation if I was never told of my alleged wrongdoings until the day after I filed my second complaint? My supervisor acted as if I was an accident waiting to happen or I am a complete clutz for falling. It is almost as though she thinks I did it on purpose. Only a crazy fool would intentionally hurt the area they had surgery on by falling over a chair!
3. I was given a prescription for 3 weeks off by my own primary care physician after the initial injury. I was told I could not take the time off because they could not replace me. I had the leave to cover it and I have it in writing I was told I could not take off because the workers comp doctor did not write the note.