Hello There, Guest! Login Register
Index    |     Search    |     Members    |     Help

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
long story- attorney suggests proposing settlement before qme
Hi, long story --

I'm in CA, have been going through workers comp for about 7 months after developing bad RSI across neck, both shoulders, both arms, wrists, hands, after working as a typist with terrible ergonomic workspace. It's still impossible for me to pick up anything, carry groceries, cook food, turn faucet on, hold a camera (outside work i'm a filmmaker, so this has really killed me) or type, and my arms are in constant pain all the time, nothing has really improved since this started.

Work comp has been a nightmare so far. I've had a lot of PT and chiro, and the doctors decided against surgery as they all decided I should be given a chance to heal on my own, but nothings improving.

I declared p&s 2months ago, but the doctor has not written his final report nor given a disability rating. I'm still technically employed by the company, and have attempted return to work twice which resulted in the injury getting worse. Employer has put me in temporary position for last 4 months to accommodate the restriction of no typing for more than 10min/day (husband typing this right now).

I've requested a QME but still waiting to hear back. My attorney says my WC doctor is notorious for being very conservative in disability ratings. Despite my condition getting worse since being declared p&s, the doc doesn't want to change the restrictions to say "no typing", and instead told me to quit the job and file for state benefits.