Hello There, Guest! Login Register
Index    |     Search    |     Members    |     Help

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
bilateral knee injuries at work and fired for leaving for a doctor appointment!
State: PA
Date of Injury: 2010

I graduated from college in 2009 second in my class. Electrical things were always interesting to me so I went to school for industrial/commercial electric related areas of study. I took my first job offer working with large circuit breakers in a small town maybe 30 minutes from my home. It was close and I wanted to expand my resume for the future.

I worked at the company for 7 months and I enjoyed the work but the people were something else. I had the worst luck at this job that I've ever had in my life. I was randomly assaulted one day by a guy fresh out of the marines right in front of everyone else because I told him to hang on for a second(he wanted me to help him but I was busy fixing a problem with a circuit breaker), and I was out of work maybe 2 weeks over that. A couple weeks after I got back to work over the assault I ended up falling and tore up both my knees.

I've had 1 arthroscopic surgery to repair my meniscus (after which I was told my ACL is tore about 20% but the Comp Doc said you need 50% to have surgery to repair it and honestly that surgery sounds terrible) in one knee and I am scheduling the next surgery tomorrow which is the first on my other knee. After the next surgery my new doctor wants to actually re-scope the first knee that the Comp Doctor scoped because I am having the same issues that I have had since falling- knees clicking and popping when I get up and major pain and discomfort when I walk. Also a new problem has been appearing- my knees have locked up about 4 times while I was carrying my 3 year old son and I almost caused us both to get hurt a couple times.