Hello There, Guest! Login Register
Index    |     Search    |     Members    |     Help

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
My cardinal sin, an interesting discussion
Hi All,

I had an interesting lunch with a doctor I used to work with, a surgeon. He told me I had committed a cardinal sin and would probably never find work in my field again. Atleast not in this area.

My sin, I was injured at work, it wasn't easily fixed (due to the first doctor's mistake) and it didn't get any better.

I know too many people and they know me. It doesn't matter how good I was, that I was a lead trainer, that I was dependable, that I worked more hours than anybody else in my department.

It's just all screwed up. Sure the doctor was very compassionate, he paid for my lunch, he wished me well. Apparently once I started putting out applications my name was tossed around and the ugliness of my injury came out. I reminded him that the injury is over, it's been fixed, the knee has been replaced. But it doesn't matter, I worked for one of the largest hospitals in the nation.

On the flip side my doctor friend hand wrote out a letter of recommendation while we sat there, he said he was writing out his notes (which he often did while we had planning lunches when I still worked). Then he made two calls and out came two other doctors that I used to work with also, they signed the letter of recommendation as well. Then they kissed me on the cheek and told me to move out of the area.

So now getting hurt at work is a cardinal sin...yeow, how do I get absolution?

How horrible... this just isn't right at all.... I am so sorry to hear of this... lol
How horrible... this just isn't right at all.... I am so sorry to hear of this... lol
Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind.

BB, thats is awefull..