Hello There, Guest! Login Register
Index    |     Search    |     Members    |     Help

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
I think im being lied to or my boss is trying to screw me over.
Ok so here's the story. I am a hair stylist in Pennsylvania. This past Saturday I sliced part of my knuckle off with my scissors, I called the owner of my salon and told her what happened and asked her what I should do. She said that since she didn't have a list of panel doctors from her insurance company that I should go to the local hospital. So I go over to the hospital and the doctor puts in 3 stitches and puts a splint on my finger. He tells me that these have to stay on for 10 days and then I can go to my family doctor to get them taken out. So he prints out the paperwork saying this and gives me a form for my owner to fill out. I bring the form to her and give her the other papers. She calls me later and says that nowhere on these papers does it say I need to be out for 10 days, now mind you, its impossible to cut hair with a splint on your finger. She tells me that since she still doesn't have the panel list of doctors that I must make an appointment with my family doctor, she tells me this on Monday. I call the family doctor and they don't understand why this is happening. I can't get in to see my doctor until Thursday. My owner tells me that since I wont have the note saying how long im out for until Thursday that they will not backdate the note for the days I have been out since Saturday. Her insurance company then calls me and tells me the same thing. The insurance woman tells me that my owner does not understand the laws so therefore I am getting screwed over. If this woman owns 2 other salons plus ours wouldnt you think she would know whats going on? What am I to do?

have your doctor lay out your work restrictions then
ask your employer to provide modified work.