Workers' Compensation Discussion Forums
Chemical Sensitivity - nurse visit tomorrow - Printable Version

+- Workers' Compensation Discussion Forums (https://www.workerscompensation.com/forums/general)
+-- Forum: Category (https://www.workerscompensation.com/forums/general/forumdisplay.php?fid=3)
+--- Forum: Injured Worker Forum (https://www.workerscompensation.com/forums/general/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+--- Thread: Chemical Sensitivity - nurse visit tomorrow (/showthread.php?tid=10834)

Pages: 1 2

Chemical Sensitivity - nurse visit tomorrow - CavScout - 08-05-2010

Hi All,
Yes I'm a newbie, but I did search for a thread that similar and didn't find one. I work in Minnesota, but live in Wisconsin.

I have an accepted claim from WC for an extreme sensitivity to a fragrance that we use at work. New job, new fragrance, didn't really bother me that much for a week or so. Then it really kicked in and I got a splitting headache, numbness and tingling in fingertips, parts of my face, my nose, nausea, and more not-fun stuff. Anyway it's been cruddy at work. I have to wear a respirator when I'm near the stuff, but the dang stuff if EVERYWHERE. Not only that, but my boss thinks I'm faking it and that is really messing with my head.

My claim was accepted by Fireman's Fund and now they are sending a nurse to visit me at home tomorrow. They told me I'd receive paperwork in the mail and I haven't seen a thing but one small check. I'm a little freaked out after reading all the posts here about how they're going to try and cut benefits as soon as they can. The problem with the sensitivity is that now other people's cologne and perfume also make me sick. I had to leave a store today because of it. From what my doctor has told me, an allergist, this is going to stick with me the rest of my life. I'm really going to watch what I say tomorrow, but I'm worried about it and am thinking of hiring a lawyer.