Get Our E- Newsletter

Fresh News, Hot Topics, CompTalk! Radio and Video and More.

Sign Up!

 
 




Wisconsin Workers' Compensation Legal Library


Wisconsin Home Page   >   Wisconsin Regulations
 

102.85 Uninsured employers; penalties.

(1) (a) An employer who fails to comply with s. 102.16 (3) or 102.28 (2) for less than 11 days shall forfeit not less than $100 nor more than $1,000.

(b) An employer who fails to comply with s. 102.16 (3) or

102.28 (2) for more than 10 days shall forfeit not less than $10 nor more than $100 for each day on which the employer fails to comply with s. 102.16 (3) or 102.28 (2) .

(2)
An employer who is required to provide worker's compensation insurance coverage under this chapter shall forfeit not less than $100 nor more than $1,000 if the employer does any of the following:
(a)
Gives false information about the coverage to his or her employees, the department or any other person who contracts with the employer and who requests evidence of worker's compensation coverage in relation to that contract.
(b)
Fails to notify a person who contracts with the employer that the coverage has been canceled in relation to that contract.

(2m) The court may waive a forfeiture imposed under sub. (1) or (2) if the court finds that the employer is subject to this chapter only because the employer elected to become subject to this chapter under s. 102.05 (2) or 102.28 (2) .

(2p) The court may waive a forfeiture imposed under sub. (1) or (2) if the court finds that the sole reason for the uninsured employer's failure to comply with s. 102.82 (2) is that the uninsured employer was a victim of fraud, misrepresentation or gross negligence by an insurance agent or insurance broker or by a person whom a reasonable person would believe is an insurance agent or insurance broker.

(3)
An employer who violates an order to cease operations under s. 102.28 (4) is guilty of a Class I felony.
(4)
(a) If a court imposes a fine or forfeiture under subs. (1) to (3) , the court shall impose under ch. 814 an uninsured employer surcharge equal to 75 percent of the amount of the fine or forfeiture.
(b)
If a fine or forfeiture is suspended in whole or in part, the uninsured employer surcharge shall be reduced in proportion to the suspension.
(c)
If any deposit is made for an offense to which this section applies, the person making the deposit shall also deposit a sufficient amount to include the uninsured employer surcharge under this section. If the deposit is forfeited, the amount of the uninsured employer surcharge shall be transmitted to the secretary of administration under par. (d) . If the deposit is returned, the uninsured employer surcharge shall also be returned.
(d)
The clerk of the court shall collect and transmit to the county treasurer the uninsured employer surcharge and other amounts required under s. 59.40 (2) (m) . The county treasurer shall then make payment to the secretary of administration as provided in s. 59.25 (3) (f) 2. The secretary of administration shall deposit the amount of the uninsured employer surcharge, together with any interest thereon, in the uninsured employers fund as provided in s. 102.80 (1) .
(5)
(a) The payment of any judgment under this section may be suspended or deferred for not more than 90 days in the discretion of the court. The court shall suspend a judgment under this section upon the motion of the department, if the department is satisfied that the employer's violation of s. 102.16 (3) or 102.28
(2)
was beyond the employer's control and that the employer no longer violates s. 102.16 (3) or 102.28 (2) . In cases where a deposit has been made, any forfeitures, surcharges, fees, and costs imposed under ch. 814 shall be taken out of the deposit and the balance, if any, returned to the employer.
(b)
In addition to any monetary penalties, the court may order an employer to perform or refrain from performing such acts as may be necessary to fully protect and effectuate the public interest, including ceasing business operations.
(c)
All civil remedies are available in order to enforce the judgment of the court, including the power of contempt under ch. 785 .

History: 1989 a. 64 ; 1993 a. 81 ; 1995 a. 201 ; 1997 a. 283 ; 2001 a. 109 ; 2003 a. 33 , 139 , 326 .



Save Time & Effort! Our Premium Members Get:
Searchable Rules & Statutes, Compliance Information,
Benefits Calculators, Case Law, & Reference

Wisconsin Compliance Information
Wisconsin Case Law Summaries And Court Opinions
Wisconsin Type And Save Forms
State Comparison Tables
Benefits Calculators
Reference Desk
Email Notification Services