Important Notice: We have deployed some new anti-spam measures that have enabled us to once again allow registration with a simple email verification. However, please do not hesitate to report suspected spam threads should they arise.
Spammers take note - your posts, if successful, will not last here. Our community is vigilant in identifying and reporting spam posts for IMMEDIATE removal. Don't waste your time!
No I didn't file a report with the office but everyone knew about the fall. I was persuaded by one of the owners not to file because the company was new and the rates would go up if I did. I had only been working for 1 week and feared I would loose my job if I did.
I live in Michigan.
Go to the top of this page and click on 'info by state" and look up Michigan law on how long you have to file. All states are different. Be sure of everything yourself. In cases like this your employer is very rarely on your side. Best of luck.
"Section 381 of the Act requires that the employee give his or her employer notice of an injury within 90 days after the injury or within 90 days after the employee knew or should have known of the injury. If the worker fails to give such notice, however, the employer does not escape responsibility unless it can show that it was somehow harmed by the worker’s failure to give notice.
Section 381 also requires that a worker must make a claim for compensation benefits within two years after the injury. The claim to the employer need not be in writing, but as discussed above, there are good reasons why it should be. In the vast majority of cases, the claim is made with the employer. The law, however, does provide the alternative that a worker can make a claim by filing it in writing with the agency on a form available from the agency." http://www.michigan.gov/wca/0,1607,7-191...--,00.html