Hello There, Guest! Login Register
Index    |     Search    |     Members    |     Help

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Right shoulder injury....1st time WC
I am new here to this forum and have decided to make a post.....believing it would be beneficial to me and also would help give me more knowledge on how to navigate WC. Here is my story.

I work as a CNA (certified nurses aid) and have been doing this for many years. I am 36 years old and have never had an on the job injury, other than the usual delayed onset soreness from using muscles that I have not used in awhile....but you usually know that it is temporary. I work for a healthcare agency and they do not guarantee you hours but certainly try to find you permanent work. I have been working for them since September of last year and had a case lifting a 190lb man who was full assist due to brain injury who could not walk but has started to gain some strength in his legs due to PT, but nevertheless, he still is heavy duty work with all his ROM exercises that are passive.

The problem is whenever I would help transfer the pt. with another man in the house, it was a full transfer using my arms and I would then experience a burning sensation in my arm and it became too painful to use. I thought maybe I had pulled a muscle but then my arm was constantly aching, so I started taking Tylenol and rubbing in Icy hot, which only gave temporary relief. I noticed too that I had limited range and pain whenever I would raise my arm above my head or reach behind my back and reach across my chest. I even had a hard time getting my arm in my clothes. The muscle was so hard and tight. I called my agency to report injury and saw a doctor that night on their WC list.