Workers Compensation - Workmans Comp Service Center

Current time: 04-18-2015, 09:04 PM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

Important Notice: We have deployed some new anti-spam measures that have enabled us to once again allow registration with a simple email verification. However, please do not hesitate to report suspected spam threads should they arise.

Spammers take note - your posts, if successful, will not last here. Our community is vigilant in identifying and reporting spam posts for IMMEDIATE removal. Don't waste your time!

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
stress and anxiety in california
07-22-2008, 08:45 PM
stress and anxiety in california
I have been working for this doctors office for 3 years . For the past year and a half I have been bullied and singled out . My doctor took me off work for 1 month for stress and anxiety last week .
My question is...can I collect state disability and file a work comp claim ? and should I get an attorney ? I heard that my employer fires employees who file work comp claims. I am so confused and scared . Any advice is sure appreciated .

Thanks,
Meyea
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-22-2008, 09:04 PM (This post was last modified: 07-22-2008 09:06 PM by chrischris.)
RE: stress and anxiety in california
1. If you pay into State disability, then you can file for State Disability if off work due to injury/illness.

2. If your stress is work related, you can file a work comp stress claim. Your employer cannot fire you for filing a claim.

3. You will have a hard time to find an attorney in California to take on just a "stress claim". WC attorneys are paid 12-15% of your settlement and most stress claims are hard, if not impossible to prove. The insurance company will fight a stress claim tooth and nail.

You can call and consult with an attorney over the phone and get advice.