• Please excuse our dust
  • We are continuing the redesign of our forums
  • We'll get there eventually!
Hello There, Guest! Login Register

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
two level spinal fusion ,now 6mos.
help anyone! hi i am new to this and have been out of work now for over 20 months. i injured my back , tried everything and had a two level spinal fusion done approx 6 monthw ago. i am still in rehab , doc says mine bone graft is still healing and does not anticipate me to be able to do anything until aug. 2008 (6more months) i was fired 30 days after my accident and the doctor said i will not be able to do what i was doing. of course , i have a hundred questions, concerns and i will be eligible for voc. rehab. i understand that the laws in Ill. say i can use the ins. company or if i want my own someone to help me find a job. my problem is i will be 56 years old ,limited schooling, and now need to start over. i now will have a partial perm. disability, and i wonder or does anyone know how long will they let you get retrained or go to school while i will be paid what they term maintenance while i am doing this. it is scary to think they can choose someone for you , but if i decide to take a school course, let ,s face it, i cannot get a new career in 30 days and i wonder how long i can get maintenance for while undergoing voc. rehab. i will have restrictions i know for lifting so i will probably end up as a greeter at the door for walmart. just thinking about some of these things is very stressfull and i am wondering has anyone been through this in illinois or somewhere where itis the same ? any info would be great thanks

Hello and wlcome to the forum!
The forum is never this dead, especially on Saturday. There are lots of people with similar problems and lots of people from Illinois. Hang in there
and someone will come along soon with the answers you're looking for.

have you applied for SSDI yet and do you have a lawyer?