Hello There, Guest! Login Register
Index    |     Search    |     Members    |     Help

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Hip Injury in Wisconsin
I was reaching down to the floor to fit a orthopedic brace on a fella, he was 500 lbs and could not use the lift chair, and felt a searing pain in my hip. I continued to see my patient and felt similar pain and the patient was aware I injured my hip.

So I discussed it with my supervisor it was not getting better that same week and he told me to file work comp claim. My 10 visits of therapy have been covered the doctors visits, the MRI with contrast and cortisone all covered
showed a large labral tear and some significant DJD(I have been reaching to the floor fitting braces at this job for 17 years I am 58 years old) but never reported any type of previous injury. Doctor feels total hip is the only answer Liberty Mutual now wants an IME.

My employer did not follow W/C guidelines and used PTO for the 12 days I was off work(every Wednesday for 3 months to rest my hip and get therapy) and dodged my requests to stop taking my PTO but upon my continued persistance LM will now pay me 66 2/3 of my lost wages once I pay them back for my PTO they used, check is in the mail.

Considering the claim is accepted at this point, what will the IME determine? My doctor has said it is work related. U can imagine I have lost faith in my employer and the IME looking out for my interests the way they handled my lost wages. Can I expect the IME to give an unbiased opinion and any suggestions about the IME? Thanks Hip now is a constant 3-4 with activity I am trying to keep working with my doctors restrictions on bending.

I can only guess at what instructions the IME will be given or what reason the Carrier sought a second pinion.