Hello There, Guest! Login Register
Index    |     Search    |     Members    |     Help

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
CT - Full-Thickness Laceration Of the left ring finger -Workmans Comp Procedures?
Hi, I am a baker at panera bread in CT, i was sweeping the floor on thursday night and the broom broke and almost took off my fingerprint/pad. I was very lucky, if that broom had gone just another 1/4 inch down and cut off that bottom flap, my whole fingerprint/pad would have came off.

I filled out a report at the place i work and went to immediate care after i finished the bake. It was too late for stitches but i was told and it was written that i could not work till the follow up.
I had the follow up on sunday and they said i could go back to work under certain conditions...

These are the limitations that the doctor put me...
- Work half shifts till re-evaluation.
- Not to lift > 10 LBS.
- Don't go near water.
- Not to wash dishes.
- Only perform clean and dry work.

Since my job is baking everything for the next day, my boss couldn't come up with a situation that would work that took into account the doctors recommendations.

My boss just told me " At this time you will need to apply for a medical leave due to you missing 5 shifts from work"
I live in CT, what are my next moves, i was going to call HR, but isn't this a workmans comp issue or both workmans comp and panera.

What do i do next, how do i handle workmans comp? Did i do the correct things?

thanks in advance

Baker@panera

Attached Files
.jpg   finger1w-txt.jpg (Size: 314.14 KB / Downloads: 2)

If modified work is unavailable from the employer, connecticut has you perform a job search and contact the insurer to request Temporary Partial Disability (TP) benefits.
I think the "medical leave" the employer was referring to is to make sure you are on FMLA during any missed time.
FMLA protects your job status when you take unpaid time off.

More information here