Hello There, Guest! Login Register
Index    |     Search    |     Members    |     Help

Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
P&S with restrictions but no disability rating. What?
Hi folks, I'm new to this page so please bear with me. I have searched all the threads but haven't found anything quite like what I'm going through so hoping for some advice. I injured my back bathing a patient over 6 months ago in California. I've been working sedentary modified duty since then with the exception of a handful of full-duty shifts that lead to flare-ups and more modified duty. I was just made P&S with a permanent weight-lifting restriction of 5 lbs but not given a disability rating despite the  fact that my job has a 50-lb lifting requirement. Not to mention that I'm in constant pain  and have difficulty sitting, standing, sleeping, driving and bending. I had no  pain or back  issues prior to this. I was also given a work limit of 12 hours per week. How is this not a partial disability?

You may have disability just not one in the form that qualifies for work comp benefits.
Disability systems like work comp are allowed to make rules as to how their benefits are determined.
It may qualify as disability in other benefit systems, but California now uses the AMA guides-5th edition to determine the extent of permanent impairment and permanent disability benefits under work comp law.
If your physician is unable to give you an AMA rating you can request that a Qualified Medical Examiner perform one.
More on QMEs here:
http://www.dir.ca.gov/dwc/medicalunit/faqiw.html
And on PD & QMEs in the fact sheets:
http://www.dir.ca.gov/dwc/iwguides.html

1171, what is your opinion of how this IW was P&S'd only 6 months after her injury with a permanent lifting restriction of 5 pounds and also stating she can only work 12 hours a week? She now does not qualify for TTD or state disability.