Hello There, Guest! Login Register
Index    |     Search    |     Members    |     Help

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
prescription denied please help
Hi all,
It's my first time in this forum, sorry first for any error. State is CA, my pain medication, NORCO, which had been prescribed by my PTP for more than a year, recently being denied by UR and upheld by IMR after my attorney's appeal. The doctor normally prescribed 120 units per month for my herniated disc, rotator cup tear, tennis elbow, neck sprain, because the pain was incredible! Now I have to pay out of my pocket for the med. The Attorney said there is nothing they can do, it's final. Is this true? FYI, I used to take 3 to 4 units a day, but since I was provided home therapies, and other outpatient treatments, I only take 1 or 2 a day. 
Thank you for your help!

I agree with your attorney there is nothing he can do.

I disagree that it is final. The IMR determination stands for 12 months UNLESS there is a change in condition or material facts in the claim that were not provided to UR or IMR. A change in condition can be an increase in pain, for example. Most people have an increase in pain if their medications are stopped.Your doctor can re-request the medications before the 12 month period if you have a change of condition and there is a box on the RFA form to check this off.

If you do not have a change of condition you can review the information sent to UR and IMR. If there are relevant records that were not sent then this may be cause for your doctor to request the medication before the 12 month period.The UR denial and IMR denial should have listed the records sent. Review what they wrote as far as your condition...does it appear like the reviewers were sent records that reflect all of your injuries? Also, did the IMR doctor deny the medication without any refills or did he deny but recommend your doctor wean you off?

I responded on the other post you wrote in more detail.