Hello There, Guest! Login Register
Index    |     Search    |     Members    |     Help

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Workman's Comp Injury
Cool 
I am new to this site, but so glad I found it.
I worked as a Contractor in Afghanistan for a few years, and got injured 2 years ago while I was last there. IED exploded while I was in an unarmored truck, and we were under enemy fire.
Seat belt was on, and saved my life, but when we hit the wall of pavement that exploded in front of us, the jarring motion and crash caused my right shoulder, left hip, and left achilles and right ribs to be injured.
I came home for treatment, and had to get my shoulder repaired, my ribs healed, and my achilles healed. But my left hip had a torn labrum, which was repaired, but I now need a total hip replacement.
I still have pain in this hip, and problems walking.
My doctor said I am not able to lift anything over 30 lbs with my shoulder.
Here are my questions:
1) Has anyone ever had any joint replacement and then did a settlement? My wife had a knee replacement, and after 2 years, had problems with it and needed another one. I am concerned about future medical needs. How does that work if you refuse to settle?

2)My new hip doctor on Tuesday said that he may want me to wait 1 or 2 years before having the surgery done, because he hates to cut into people that are so young...but he said I WILL need a hip replacement within that time period. (I have an MRI and bone scan scheduled for him to see how damaged the bones are).
How would this work with me receiving disability payments...and still having periodic cortisone injections (every 3 months) to help with the pain and movement? Has anyone had to do this before? I am definitely improved in movement due to weekly Physical Therapy I still get. It's really helped.
Would they want to stop payment if the surgery is done later?

I don't want to sign off on my benefits yet until I am sure I am doing the right thing regarding this hip.