Hello There, Guest! Login Register
Index    |     Search    |     Members    |     Help

Thread Rating:
  • 2 Vote(s) - 3.5 Average
Company negligence cost my index finger
Sad 
October 2014

I work full time as a diesel mechanic. I have a part time job at a landscaping business for extra income. I also do side job mechanical work for extra cash.

Two months ago, I was working at the landscaping business when I had my right index finger (dominant hand) smashed off on a log splitter. I was taken to the ER and there was no doctor within a reasonable distance willing to try to reattach what they deemed had too much tissue damage.

I will give you a little background on this landscaping business. I knew an acquaintance that was a foreman and knew I had a Commercial Driver’s License and asked me to drive the trucks for the business. They were short-handed and I could use the extra income. This day they were short-handed on the log splitting labor (and foreman) due to bad weather (rain). The Supervisor was also absent. I had used the log splitter once before and my co-worker was well experienced. When I got my hand caught trying to catch the sliding log I yelled for my co-worker to stop. He tried to pull the emergency stop switch but it did not stop. He even bent the handle.

I was pretty much in shock and disbelief, but the ER gave me a sedative to calm down and pain medication. I explained to the workman’s compensation case worker at the hospital and later at home that I thought the emergency shut off switch worked; but maybe my co-worker didn’t pull it before a point where the shut off mechanism cannot be engaged. The co-worker thought it always worked whenever you pulled it. This is as much as I know about the log splitter, I was told to split wood that day.