Hello There, Guest! Login Register
Index    |     Search    |     Members    |     Help

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Just fired from job
Hi all! Little background, Cubital Tunnel Syndrome. I received an email from my employer that said because I am P&S I can't return to work unless I get a full return to work from doctor. Can I lose my wc benefits?

I'm not an expert, by any stretch if the imagination. But I like to try and help where I can. Smile

Based on what you said I think what you're employer is saying is they want your Dr to be able to release you with basically no restrictions. Is that possible? Can you do the things they previously expected of you? Have they offered you light duty? Is there a light duty position within the company they could even offer you?

I'm not sure about Ca but here in Illinois the WC benefits don't end because employment ends, providing you don't quit or turn down light duty. IOW even if you can't do the functions and they let you go TTD and medical are still provided by WC.

My best guess on your LTD is it would probably end if your employment ends as those kind of insurance policies are usually tied to being employed by the provider. But there could be some sort of extension since you are already recieving LTD. I'd check my employee benfits handbook, if you have one, or call the HR dept and ask.

dsny1mom

[/u]What is P&S? I see that alot but cannot for the life of me figure it out. I think that if your work let you go you should not lose benefits. I wish you luck and i am sure someone else has the answer.
carpal tunnel recurrence/ neuropathy / RSD.
1/29/07 injury date. Permanent. PIR settlement 8/4/08 10%

Smile
No.
Wink
work comp is not health insurance and doesn't require you remain with your employer.
Rolleyes
P.S. they could be in violation of federal ADA law if they have not tried to accommodate your impairment.
Big Grin