Hello There, Guest! Login Register
Index    |     Search    |     Members    |     Help

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Skin cancer & scar tissue
I saw the dermatologist today for a recheck of the skin cancer.

In 2009 I had 3 surgeries for skin cancer, and I return to the doctor every 6 months.

I returned to the doctor today earlier then normal because I noticed a change in appearance in the area where a tumor was earlier removed.

After examining the skin the doctor told me, “Your body makes excess scar tissue and it changes the appearance of a scar" fortunatly the skin cancer has not returned!

Guess I was a little surprised the doctor could tell this by looking at a scar, and suprised how scar tissue effects the body.

I find it had to believe a doctor can say excessive scar tissue takes place in a person's body from just a very small area. I have scars that have changed also. Never have I been told that before. When ever a person gets cut, there will be some scar tissue. As to how the person takes care of the area depends on the amount. Now there are some cases where scar tissue can form very repidly, and then be said to become excessive. But excessive is extreme to say since this was 2 years ago, and would have been noticed the first 6 months, not something then just recently viewed.
Reply's are intended solely for informational purposes. They are based on personal opinions, experience, or research and are "not to be taken as fact or legal advice", otherwise, always consult an attorney or a doctor.

Bad Boy I noticed the change in the appearance of the scar 6 months ago.

I wasn't able to get into the doctor until this week.

I had regular visits with this doctor up until last summer, at each the visits photographs were taken.

I had one very large tumor removed on the left side, I traveled out of state to a surgeon in KS City, Mi. The other tumor was taken care of at the local office, by out patient surgery.